Page 4: of Maritime Logistics Professional Magazine (Q4 2012)

The Environment: Stewardship & Compliance

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of Q4 2012 Maritime Logistics Professional Magazine

Business Publications Audit of Circulation, Inc.Member Meet the Contributors Maritime Professional Copyright © 2012 New Wave Media. Maritime Professional (ISSN 2159-7758) volume 2, issue 4 is published quarterly (4 times per year) by New Wave Media, 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor, New York, NY 10010. Periodicals postage paid at New York, NY and additional mailing ofÞ ces. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to: Maritime Professional, 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor, New York, NY 10010. Publishers are not responsible for the safekeeping or return of editorial material. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the publishers. MaritimeProfessional ? the magazineDr. Jim Giermanski is Chairman, Powers Glob- al Holdings, Inc., an international transportation security company. He has authored over 175 ar- ticles and is currently writing a global supply chain security book. Story p. 8 Barry Parker , bdp1 Consulting Ltd. provides strategic and tactical support, including analytics and communications, to businesses across the maritime spectrum. The company can be found online at www.conconnect.com .Story p. 10 Clay Maitland is the Founding Chairman of NAMEPA, a maritime industry-led initiative which engages maritime businesses, government and the public to ?Save our Seas? by promoting sound environmental practices. www.namepa.net Story p. 14 Harry Ward leads the transportation and logis- tics practice at The McLean Group, a middle-mar- ket investment bank based in the Washington, DC area. Mr. Ward has executive management experi- ence in the marine industry and focuses on merg- ers and acquisitions for mid-sized companies. Story p. 56 Also in this Edition6 | Editor?s Note 7 | The List8 | Insights100% Cargo Scanning By Dr. Jim Giermanski 14 | InsightsNAMEPA: Building Bridges By Clay Maitland, Chairman, NAMEPA 17 | Whistleblower Awards The Time is Now for Standards By Jeanne M. Grasso & Gregory F. Linsin 24 | Jones Act Debate in Puerto RicoAn urban legend or a never-ending story? By Robert Kunkel 42 | TWIC LivesBeastBox helps TWIC work. Edited by Joseph Keefe 56 | Maritime Mergers & AcquisitionsNew rules, new opportunities By Harry Ward 58 | High Tech Partnerships ABS & ESRG partner By Joeseph Keefe 61 | Statistics 64 | Advertiser?s Index HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd FloorNew York, NY 10010 USA Tel +1 212 477 6700Fax +1 212 254 6271URL www.maritimeprofessional.com Email trauthwein@marinelink.comISSN - 2159-7758USPS # 005-893EditorJoseph Keefekeefe@marinelink.com +1 704 661 8475Blogger Roster @MaritimeProfessional.comLead Commentator Joseph Keefe U.S. East Dennis Bryant U.S. West Martin Rushmere Brazil Claudio Paschoa Mumbai Joseph Fonseca Hong Kong Greg Knowler PublisherJohn C. O?Malleyjomalley@marinelink.comAssociate Publisher/Editorial DirectorGregory R. Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.comVP SalesRob Howardhoward@marinelink.comProductionNicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.comCorporate StaffVladimir Bibik, ITRhoda Morgan, Sales AdministrationMark O?Malley, Public RelationsJocelyn Redfern, MarketingEsther Rothenberger, AccountingSubscriptionKathleen Hickeymarprocirc@marinelink.comAdvertising SalesJack Bond bond@marinelink.com +1 561 732 1659Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com +1 561 732 1185Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com +1 561 733 2477Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com +1 631 472 2715Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com +1 212 477 67004 I Maritime Professional I 4Q 2012MP #4 1-17.indd 4MP #4 1-17.indd 411/12/2012 1:48:03 PM11/12/2012 1:48:03 PM

Maritime Logistics Professional

Maritime Logistics Professional magazine is published six times annually.